Novel preview in progress – or how not to help an Aspie

Nearly seven months ago, my course mates and I were at the beginning of the end. Several essays, one booklet, two group projects and four presentations later, and we are facing the final curtain. Of university. With one more week until the final deadline, I am about to finish writing my dissertation* – a few extracts of a novel that I had been planning for years now. Presenting the first preview of…When You’re Strange.

The story mainly focuses on 16 year old Eleanor and her struggles with secondary school and parents who can’t agree on a possible diagnosis. Some of it is inspired by my real life experiences, some is supposed to portray humourous insights about people and inspiration for kids on the spectrum. So, how many of these failed attempts at understanding autism have you heard?

Extract 5

‘Excuse me, sir?’ Mr Adams?’ Eleanor asked, before she could stop herself.
Mr Adams paused, still facing the staff room, and looked over his shoulder at her. ‘Yes, Eleanor?’
‘I, um, I’m sorry about the other week…in PE…’ she faltered. Why did this have to be so hard? She didn’t even know what to apologise for!
‘It wasn’t a hard game.’
Eleanor took a deep breath, trying to remember what it said in the leaflet about explaining to other people. Say it like it is.
‘I have Asperger’s Syndrome, which means I have trouble with reading people and physical co-ordination,’ she said.
‘Oh,’ Mr Adams looked down. ‘I’m…sorry.’
‘Why?’
‘Never mind. It’s ok. I had an Asperger student a few years ago.’ He paused. ‘But everybody’s clumsy or awkward sometimes. We can’t make allowances for anyone having an off day. Do you understand?’
Eleanor shrugged. Not really.
Mr Adams went on. ‘Besides, although you made a few errors, I didn’t see you struggling too much. But if you ever need extra help, just let me know.’
‘Ok.’ She looked at the floor. Had he understood?

 

Most students I have known feel like they can’t be free of their dissertation soon enough. If anything, if I want to turn this into a proper book, I could be spending many more years on it. But if I can get it published, it will be one goal crossed off my bucket list. I’m glad I chose to go to uni, and I don’t regret it for a minute. It has pushed me one step further along my chosen path, and on the day I see my name on the front of a book, it will all have been worth it.

And on that note, happy Autism Awareness Month!

 

 

*Known as a Portfolio, in Creative Writing speak. But would you have understood what I meant if I had used that word instead?

2 thoughts on “Novel preview in progress – or how not to help an Aspie

  1. h.m.arnold@btinternet.com says:

    I like it. THe section of your book ahs a ring of truth about it, but then you’ve got a lot of experiences to draw on! Is it the church May doo dah this weekend? x

    From: unwrittengrace To: h.m.arnold@btinternet.com Sent: Saturday, April 30, 2016 2:33 PM Subject: [New post] Novel preview in progress – or how not to help an Aspie #yiv7762819365 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7762819365 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7762819365 a.yiv7762819365primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7762819365 a.yiv7762819365primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7762819365 a.yiv7762819365primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7762819365 a.yiv7762819365primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7762819365 WordPress.com | gracenotes17 posted: “Nearly seven months ago, my course mates and I were at the beginning of the end. Several essays, one booklet, two group projects and four presentations later, and we are facing the final curtain. Of university. With one more week until the final deadline,” | |

    • gracenotes17 says:

      Thank you! Not sure which church May doo dah you mean, so I will list them: Kids duty next Sunday, refreshments on the Sunday after that, and the worker’s meal the following Monday. Am just considering various going home options 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

