Greetings…

So I have somehow found my way onto the blogosphere. After months of reading other people’s blogs, wishing I was already an experienced writer and maybe a little procrastination. I’d recently come up with a long list of deep, philosophical blog post topics such as Asperger’s Syndrome, cats and how not to play Super Mario bros. Looking at my newly created blog I suddenly had an attack of writer’s block. Er, blogger’s block. I was also impressed by how my “Blogging for Dummies” book could make me feel like a complete dummy within the first few chapters. So to start it all off, here’s me.

I am half Chinese/Taiwanese, half English, and spent the first four years of my life in Taiwan. Since then, life has thrown many weird and…weirder things my way. I learnt to play the violin at a young age without ever being taught how to turn the page of a piece of orchestra music without knocking it off the stand. At age nine I was diagnosed with Asperger’s, to which my immediate reaction was “oh…can I have a piece of cheese?”. My eleventh birthday was spent in New Zealand and ended with us all jetlagged and in bed at 4:30pm. I spent the next few years blundering through school, college and home study and surviving with reasonable grades and an offer from De Montfort Uni. I now reside in the same HQ as a certain feline facebook celebrity, name of Lionel Arnold.

With my slightly autistic tendencies I am a perfectionist. I’m also an introvert, and love being with those I’m close to but will quickly start to flag if I can’t have my personal space from time to time. My memory allows me to remember tiny details from incidents of years ago, but not instructions that have just this second been given to me. I love cats, reading, writing, music and, if I’m honest, chocolate. What I’m not so keen on are stereotypes, not being able to do things, conflict, sport and people with unreasonable attitudes. I have many different interests, as you may soon find out, and have wanted to be a writer since before I started school. Hence me trying to hone my writing abilities by starting a blog.

As stated in my “about” section (among other things), this blog is basically the musings, memories and mishaps of a slightly autistic Christian wannabe writer. Obscure, I know, but I’m hoping to work on that, with a combination of reflections and amusing anecdotes. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Greetings…

  1. Sarah Hibbs says:

    SO EXCITED TO READ THE FIRST BLOGPOST!!

    Yes Grace!! I can’t wait to read more!!

    Sarah xxx

  2. Karen says:

    This is a fantastic start, and starting is often the most difficult part of a new venture. This is where I should write or quote something profound and encouraging, but I can’t think of anything…. xxx

  3. Congratulations, Grace, on your blog. I found it interesting and amusing. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

